Loading Events

ACS DFW Local Section Invites Nominations for
Doherty, Schulz, and Chemistry Ambassador Awards (2023)

The deadline for submission of nominations is extended to May 15, 2023.

The Doherty Award is given for excellence in chemical research or chemistry teaching, meritorious service to ACS, new chemical methodology (for the industry), solution of pollution problems, and advances in curative or preventive chemotherapy. Nominees may come from industry, academia, government, or small business. The nominee should be a resident member in the area served by the ACS DFW Local Section, and the work should have been performed here. The award is $1500 and an engraved plaque.

The Schulz Award is given to high school chemistry teachers, who, like the late Dr. Werner Schulz, bring that something extra to the teaching of chemistry. The nominee and/or nominator need not be ACS members. Nominees should show excellence in chemistry teaching, as demonstrated by testimonials from students and fellow teachers, results in student competitions, and diligence in updating and expanding scientific/teaching credentials. The award is $1500 and an engraved plaque.

 The DFW Section instituted the Chemistry Ambassador Award to recognize an outstanding Section member who has made a significant impact by promoting chemistry to the community.    The 2023 Chemistry Ambassador of the Year award is based on peer or self-nominations to the selection committee. Submissions should be one page in length and address the community outreach activities either through teaching, service, or working with legislators to affect public policy.  Submissions will be evaluated on the impact made, which may include but not limited to how many people were reached, impact on individual people in the community, and exemplary commitment to the promotion of chemistry in the community. The award is $1000.

Each nomination should contain a completed nomination form (see links below), a cover letter highlighting the nominee’s accomplishments, and a copy of the CV.  One or two additional letters may accompany nominations.  The nomination package should be sent by email as a single pdf file to Mrs. Karen Compton at .  Nominations remain active for five years but should be updated annually.

The deadline for submission of nominations is extended to May 15, 2023.

Doherty Award Nomination Form

Schulz Award Nomination Form

Share This Story, Choose Your Platform!

Go to Top